Working title/Working life

It’s been quite a while since I’ve used this blog. 3 months. Whoops.

Anyway, I’ve been working on a new painting in the intervening months between posts. It’s still dealing with internal anatomy, and it’s part of my efforts to successfully render florals.

I’m continually inspired by a few gorgeous florist accounts I follow on instagram: tulipinadesign, megcatherineflowers, and swallowsanddamsons.

The image below is from my sketchbook. I’m finally getting to a point where all my flowers don’t look deformed, but not at a point where I can leave reference pictures behind.

transitional
transitional

The painting-in-process is below. The small intestine (the orange one) needs some reworking. I want to bring a bit more contrast and vibrancy to it. I started with the greenery for the bouquet because that’s the easy part. Using paint for the flowers will be a bit more challenging than the pencil crayon colouring in the above image.

It’s fun to be painting again though!

image

Leave a Reply

