Imagery for Nonsense

Part of my efforts to practice my illustration skills and build a portfolio is assigning myself illustration projects. My first pick is “The Owl and the Pussy Cat” by Edward Lear and originally published in 1871.

Edward Lear began his career as a visual artist although, but he became well known in his lifetime for the nonsense limericks and poems he is famous for today. As he was an artist much of his work is accompanied by wonderful illustrations, but it’s a fun exercise to reinterpret the characters and setting to my favourite Edward Lear poem (and one of the only poem I can recite (usually)).

Depending on how this project goes, I might illustrate some of his other works from Complete Nonsense.

 

img_0231
Title Page
Leave a Reply

